Staff Report

After being named the New York State Class D Player of the Year in 2016 for leading Fort Plain to a state championship, Drew Fureno earned first-team honors Friday when the New York State Sportswriters Association released its 2017 all-state baseball teams.

Fureno, a catcher, shortstop and pitcher who will continue his career next season for Le Moyne College, was the lone area player to earn first-team recognition, but was one of five players from the area to receive all-state honors alongside Fort Plain teammate Bryce Thibodeau, the Amsterdam duo of Brendan McGillin and Jeffrey Brennan and Galway’s Sam Uline.

The Recorder’s 2016 and 2017 Player of the Year, Fureno hit .368 for the Hilltoppers with 29 stolen bases and 16 runs batted in. Pitching for the first time since seventh grade, he worked to a 1.96 earned run average and racked up 32 strikeouts in 25 innings.

Fureno wrapped up his high school career as a .417 hitter with a Section II record 106 stolen bases while striking out just 17 times in five varsity seasons.

Thibodeau, a sophomore, was named to the Class D fourth team. A first baseman and pitcher, he hit .400 with two home runs and 27 RBIs while going 6-2 with a 2.33 earned run average on the mound.

McGillin, The Recorder’s 2017 Pitcher of the Year, was a seventh-team selection in Class A. He went 4-2 with a 1.49 ERA and 65 strikeouts in 47 innings on the mound for Amsterdam, while also posting a team-high 17 RBIs at the plate.

Brennan, a sophomore, earned an eighth-team nod at shortstop in Class A after hitting .444 in his first full varsity season, a year that included a stretch of 16 hits in 20 at-bats in late April.

Uline, a five-year starter for Galway, was a third-team pick at catcher in Class C. He hit an even .500 with four doubles, two home runs and 18 RBIs for the Golden Eagles.