Sunday, December 11, 2016
Amsterdam, NY ,


Photo courtesy Bill McGaffin Jeremy Wilder is all smiles after winning the modified event at Fonda Speedway on Saturday night.


Wilder takes modified win at Fonda

Monday, July 28, 2014 - Updated: 9:33 AM

FONDA -- With the points battle heating up between six-time modified champion Bobby Varin and defending track champion Stewart Friesen with only three races to go before champions are decided, Jeremy Wilder decided that it was time to take away some of the limelight those two drivers had going for them on Saturday evening at the Fonda Speedway as it was Wilder who drove a great race to pick up his third career win at the "Track of Champions".

Other winners at Fonda on Saturday included Dave Constantino (sportsman), Luke Horning (pro stock), Dave Horning Sr. (street stock), Ken Hollenback (4-cylinder), and Bobby Varin (Empire Lightning Sprints). A special dash for cash with a very unique format was also held in honor of a great friend of racing, the late Bill Anagnostopulos, with Bobby Varin winning that event.

Brian Gleason was the race leader in the 30-lap modified feature event at the drop of Denny Tilison's green flag with Jeremy Wilder wasting no time moving up from his fifth place starting position as he was up to the third position at the completion of lap one. It took Wilder three laps to make his way by his brother Korey by the time lap four was completed just before the first caution flag of the event was thrown for Elmo Reckner who came to a stop in turn four.

On the restart Jeremy Wilder was the new race leader with another caution out just two laps later for Jeff Trombley who slowed on the backstretch with a smoking race car. On this restart Wilder continued to lead with Bobby Varin and Stewart Friesen making their way to the front after starting 14th and 15th respectively as they sat in the seventh and eighth positions on the restart.

When Jeff Rockefeller ended up in the infield in turn two on lap 13 the yellow was out again and on the single file restart Wilder maintained the lead followed in the top five by Gleason, Friesen, Bodie Bellinger, and Varin as spots in the top five continued to change. Just past the halfway point in the event Wilder held a straightaway advantage and despite getting into lap traffic with 10 laps to go he maintained the lead as Friesen moved into the second position on lap 22 after he got by Gleason for the spot.

With two laps to go Friesen was closing in on Wilder but when Wilder made it safely under a lap car as the white flag flew to seal the win for Wilder in the Adirondack Motorsports #24 owned by Bill Schoons and Dave Bogardus. Friesen, Varin, Gleason, and Bellinger rounded out the top five at the drop of the checkered flag.

"The track was definitely challenging tonight but everyone has to run on the same track so we put our big boy undies on tonight and went out there and raced," Wilder said in victory lane. "We caught a break tonight and started towards the front and I want to dedicate this win to one of my car owners Dave Bogardus."

DIRTCAR MODIFIED FEATURE - 30-LAPS - JEREMY WILDER, Stewart Friesen, Bobby Varin, Brian Gleason, Bodie Bellinger, Korey Wilder, Craig Hanson, Josh Hohenforst, Darwin Greene, Justin Boehler, Jeff Rockefeller, Scott Huber, C.J. Morey, Ed Harris, Todd Morey, Chad Miller, Jim Davis, Jeff Trombley, Pep Corradi, Ronnie Holmes, Elmo Reckner, Alton Palmer, Ronnie Johnson, A.J. Romano (DNS), Mark Kislowski (DNS), Vinny Sanganetti (DNS).

SPORTSMAN FEATURE - 20-LAPS - DAVE CONSTANTINO, John McAuliffe, Rocky Warner, Chris Schaffer, Connor Cleveland, Luke Munroe, Ricky Quick, Greg Havlichek, Adam McAuliffe, Cody Clark, Doug Hancock, Ivan Joslin, Aaron Burton, Dan Santabarbara, Chip Constantino, Floyd Billington, Josh Demagistri, Dan Boni, Dana Palombo, A.J. Prime, Mike Peek, Chris Curtis, Jeremiah Munson, Harry Shaffer, Mark Mortensen, Ray Zemken, Tony Farone, Jason Greco, Jeff Eckler.

DIRTCAR PRO STOCK FEATURE - 20-LAPS - LUKE HORNING, Chuck Dumblewski, Kenny Gates, Nick Stone, Mark Sullivan, Dean Charbonneau, Rueben Kennedy Jr., Dennis Joslin, Jeff McPhail, Gus Hollner, Bill Knapp, Nate Furman, Adam Warner, Jamie Warner, Pete Broderson, Jason Casey, Randy Cosselman, Cassidy Wilson, Jim Normoyle, A.J. Walters, Walt Brownell (DNS), Don Kennedy (DNS).

STREET STOCK FEATURE - 15-LAPS - DAVE HORNING SR., Cliff Haslun, Brian Cosselman, John Bradt, Wayne Rubscha, Jerry Cohn, Harold Chadderon, Jason Samrov, Neil Cosselman, Johnny Young.

4-CYLINDER FEATURE - 6-LAPS - KEN HOLLENBACK, Kerrie Hollenbeck, Keith Tesiero Sr., Keith Tesiero Jr., Shawn Morrison, Wayne Russell.

EMPIRE LIGHTNING SPRINT FEATURE - 10-LAPS - BOBBY VARIN, Kurt Conklin, Doug Norrie, Jerry Sehn, Shilo Boyce, Rick Stone, Zach Bennett, Mike Badgley, Don Harvey, Christian Carrol, Nick DeNyse, Justin Phillips, Chris Hirt.


Comments made about this article - 0 Total

Comment on this article

Subscribe to The Recorder


The Recorder Sports Schedule

Most Popular

    Area high school sports calendar
    Thursday, December 08, 2016

    Police Reports
    Wednesday, December 07, 2016

    Three contractors and city employee arrested for fraud
    Saturday, December 10, 2016

    Honor roll
    Tuesday, December 06, 2016

    OESJ beats buzzer twice to edge Schoharie in OT thriller
    Monday, December 05, 2016

    Police chiefs urge Cuomo to expand ride-sharing upstate
    Monday, December 05, 2016

    Municipalities receives preservation grants for structure reports, surveys
    Tuesday, December 06, 2016

    New state regulation will allow more patients to access medical marijuana
    Tuesday, December 06, 2016

    Patricia Ann Rumrill
    Monday, December 05, 2016

    Winter weather hits area, a few accidents reported
    Monday, December 05, 2016


Copyright © McClary Media, Inc.

Privacy Policies: The Recorder

Contact Us