Sunday, March 29, 2015
Amsterdam, NY ,

Pair of F-F runners recognized by local Fulmont running club

Friday, January 18, 2013 - Updated: 5:49 PM

Staff report

Fonda-Fultonville High School's Matt Hoffman and Jamie Kasza have been named winners of the Fulmont Roadrunners Club's annual Cross-Country Runner of the Year Awards, according to an announcement by Fulmont Roadrunners president Ginny Mosher. The awards honor 2012's top male and female cross-country runners in Fulton and Montgomery County high schools.

In addition, the Roadrunners honored the boy's cross-country team from Fonda-Fultonville High, which was first in the Section II, Class C Championships for 2012 and finished second in the Class C New York State Championships race that followed. Members of that team, coached by Mark Therrien and Mike Benton, included Matt Hoffman, Tyler Angioli, Jimmy Westman, Cameron Gilligan, Dylan DeSorbo, Dalton Hunter, Omijah Piening, Damian Freeman, Jacob Shave, and Cole Wozniak.

For their achievements, the individual winners, Hoffman and Kasza, and the championship team received special recognition at the Fulmont Roadrunners' annual Winter Wimp foot race held January 12 in Hagaman.

Hoffman, a senior at Fonda-Fultonville High, concluded his outstanding cross-country season with a first-place finish in the Section II, Class C Championships race, and he was fifth (of 130 competitors) in the State Class C Championship. Other highlights of his 2012 running year included first-place finishes in the Burnt Hills and Utica Procter Invitationals and a first in the Colonial Council Championship race.

Highlighting the running year of Kasza, a freshman at Fonda-Fultonville, were a first-place finish in the Class C Section II Championship race, followed by a ninth-place finish (of 127 runners) in the New York State Class C Championship. Her outstanding running year also included firsts in the Fonda, Burnt Hills, and Grout Invitationals and seconds in the Utica Procter and Ft. Plain Invitationals.


Outstanding XC

Runner Awards

In addition to the overall winners, the Fulmont Roadrunners select the top male and female cross-country runners in each of the Fulton and Montgomery County high schools that field cross-country teams. They too were honored at the Winter Wimp.

Winners of these Outstanding Cross-Country Runner Awards for 2012 were Megan Ottati and Nick Raponi, both seniors, at Amsterdam High School, senior Mackenzie Ottati and junior Greg Bogdan of Broadalbin-Perth High School, senior Quinn Li O'Shea of Canajoharie High School and junior Jordan Ahrens of Fort Plain High School, junior Kimberly Geniti and senior Tyler Angioli of Fonda-Fultonville High School, sophomore Brittany Craven and senior John Knox of Gloversville High School, seniors Emily Fettinger and Eric Brower of Johnstown High School, and seniors Lidija Nikollaj and Tom McClellan of Mayfield High School.

The Fulmont Roadrunners initiated the high school cross-country awards program 17 years ago as part of its efforts to encourage and reward young runners in Fulton and Montgomery Counties. It also awards scholarships annually to outstanding high school seniors in the area who compete in varsity running programs and are going on to college.

Amsterdam High School track and cross country coach Stu Palczak heads up both programs for the club.


Comments made about this article - 0 Total

Comment on this article

The Recorder Sports Schedule


The Recorder Newscast

Most Popular

    Area high school sports calendar
    Monday, March 23, 2015

    New York state Senate again backs legalization of mixed martial arts
    Wednesday, March 25, 2015

    Sheriff's office investigating foreclosure company
    Wednesday, March 25, 2015

    Michael T. Bintz
    Thursday, March 26, 2015

    Benefit scheduled Sunday For second time in five years, local family loses home to fire
    Wednesday, March 25, 2015

    Local singer makes it to the next round
    Tuesday, March 24, 2015

    Best friends in life playing best friends in a high school musical
    Thursday, March 26, 2015

    F-FCS athletes Board eyeing tougher rules
    Friday, March 27, 2015

    City trying to whittle project list
    Monday, March 23, 2015

    New jobs, fireworks, jail upgrades are on next county agenda
    Monday, March 23, 2015


Copyright © Port Jackson Media

Privacy Policies: The Recorder

Contact Us