Recorder News Staff

James Glorioso Jr. informally withdrew his bid for the Democratic Party nomination for the 2nd Ward Alderperson, but he may secure his place on the ballot with early returns having him leading the primary.

Glorioso garnered 22 votes in the Democratic Party primary for the 2nd Ward seat on the Amsterdam Common Council, while challenger Valerie Beekman had 12 votes, according to unofficial elections results.

Montgomery County Board of Elections Democratic Commissioner Terry Bieniek said 16 ballots have been received from voters in the city, enough to change the outcome of the primary.

Some of the absentee ballots could be for the two seats on the Republican Committee in the 2nd Ward Election District 4. Early returns had Peter P. Bylina Jr. and Paul Ochal each securing four votes, with Mary B. Lippie trailing with three votes.

Glorioso had announced on July 20 he was withdrawing his bid for the city’s 2nd Ward. Glorioso’s decision, however, occurred too late for him to be withdrawn from the ballot.

Glorioso had released a statement about his decision to withdraw after County Board of Elections officials tossed aside his specific objection on Beekman’s designating petitions to be the Democratic candidate.

In the Town of Florida, newcomer Steven E. Anderson nabbed 63 votes to defeat incumbent William G. Weller, who garnered 36 votes, for the Democratic Party nomination in the Florida Highway Superintendent race, according to unofficial election results from the Board of Elections. There were reportedly four absentees ballots received from the Town of Florida.

Weller will still appear on the ballot in November, because he holds the independent line “Highway.” Anderson holds the independent ballot line “Chief Steve’s Line” in the general election.

Keith A. Rackowski secured the Republican Party ballot line for the town highway superintendent in the general election.

In the town of Palatine, Incumbent trustee candidates Niel Yerdon (Republican, Responsible Government) and Betty Jean Sanders (Conservative, Independence, Republican) received 64 and 78 votes respectively. Former trustee Shawn Cotton (Republican) received 85 votes. Cotton and Sanders will run on the Republican line in the November election for the two open seats being vacated by Yerdon and Sanders. Yerdon retains the potential to run as a Responsible Government candidate.

Running for two open Republican Committee seats in the town of Palatine were Republican candidates Linda E. Logan (36 votes), Sandra McCullough (16 votes), Paul Daw (24 votes), and Janey B. Dygert (35 votes).

In the town of Root, Republican highway superintendent candidates Peter W. Rebokis and Donald A Abbatiello received 8 and 6 votes respectively. Both were topped by a write-in candidate, the name of which was not available Tuesday evening, receiving 86.41 percent of the 103 votes cast, with 89 write-ins.