The Recorder

Education News in Brief

200 students named to fall 2016 provost’s list

ONEONTA — A total of 200 SUNY Oneonta students earned provost’s list honors for the fall 2016 semester.

The following area students were named:

Madeline Cole of Canajoharie; Morgan Koelbl of Canajoharie; Andrew Senese of Amsterdam; Caitlin Snyder of Broadalbin; Somer Timerman of Canajoharie.

Fraczek earns graduate recognition at SUNY Oswego

OSWEGO — Sieara M. Fraczek, of Amsterdam, completed her graduate studies at SUNY Oswego in fall 2016 with a Master of Science in Education degree in agricultural education and was recognized in December at the college’s commencement.

SUNY Oswego announces December 2016 graduates from area

OSWEGO — More than 300 students completed their baccalaureate studies at SUNY Oswego in fall 2016 and were recognized during commencement in December, including several from the area.

* Sarah E. Bonaker, of Amsterdam, received her degree in creative writing

* Stephen J. Hotaling, of Gloversville, received his degree in cinema and screen studies

* Jared D. Brower, of Johnstown, received his degree in computer science.

Paris named to dean’s list at Binghamton University

BINGHAMTON — Kelly Paris, of Amsterdam, was named to the dean’s list for academic achievement during the fall 2016 semester at Binghamton University. To be eligible for dean’s list a student must earn a 3.5 grade point average with 12 or more credits and no missing grades or incompletes.

Briggs named to dean’s list at Utica College

UTICA — Kiernan Briggs, of Fort Plain, was named to the dean’s list for the fall 2016 semester at Utica College. Briggs is a mathematics major.

More than 1,500 students named to dean’s list at SUNY Oneonta

ONEONTA — A total of 1,515 SUNY Oneonta students earned dean’s list honors for the fall 2016 semester.

The following area students were named to the fall 2016 SUNY Oneonta Dean’s List:

Harrison Abrams, of Fort Plain;

Leah Bascom of Amsterdam;

Christa Decker of Amsterdam;

Hailey Etherton of Fultonville;

Morgan Gray of Sprakers;

Lauren Loucks of Cherry Valley;

Allie Sanders of Fultonville;

Cassandra Schrader of Sharon Spring;

Aidan Simonds of Fonda;

Hannah Staples of Fort Plain;

Cassandra Swart of Johnstown;

Marissa Tambasco of Amsterdam;

Brett Taylor of Fort Hunter;

Nicole Traver of Amsterdam;

Zack Valachovic of Fultonville;

Ashley Warner of Northville;

Laiken Whittredge of Saint Johnsville.

Clarkson School Offering $60,000 Scholars Award

POTSDAM — The Clarkson School, Clarkson University’s early college program, is once again proud to offer the $60,000 — or $15,000 per year — Clarkson School Scholars Award.

The award is based on a nomination from a student’s high school administration and is available to students who are currently in their junior year, have excelled academically and are interested in starting college early. To receive consideration, students are encouraged to speak with their high school guidance department.

To learn more about the Clarkson School Scholars Award or TCS, visit or call 800-574-4425.