Tony Stewart races Thursday at Fonda

FONDA -- When the University of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint cars compete at Fonda Speedway on Thursday, a special guest will be part of the festivities as 2011 Sprint Cup Champion Tony Stewart will compete in the event in one of his self-owned sprint cars for the second year in a row.

Racing action Thursday, July 18 will begin at 7 p.m., with pit gates opening at 4 p.m. and the front gates opening at 5 p.m. Admission for the eventm which this year includes the annual Hondo Classic for the pro stocks will be $30 for general admission, $3 for children ages 6-11, and free for children under the age of 5. For ticket information for the event you can call the speedway office at 382-3115.

This will be the fourth trip to the Track of Champions for the All Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint cars, with Daryn Pittman winning the inaugural event back in 2010 while Tim Shaffer took the win the last two years. Stewart finished last year's event in third.

Fred Rahmer set a new track record for the 410 Sprint cars with a time of 15.11 seconds back on June 8, 2011 which equaled out to an unofficial average speed of 119 miles per hour and still stands as the record today.

For the first time ever, in 2013 the Hondo Classic -- honoring the late pro stock driver Hondo Carpenter -- will take center stage along with the sprint cars as a mid-week show wthat shows just how big this event has become over the years. The event is led by Kelly Keefe and the Friends of Hondo Memorial Society and has become the biggest event of the season for the pro stock drivers in the Northeast.

Previous winners of the Hondo Classic are Jim Burton (2006), Nick Stone (2007-08), Kenny Gates (2009), Chip Smith (2010), Rob Yetman (2011) and Pete Broderson (2012).

For more information about the Fonda Speedway, you can go to their website at and for more information on the University of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint cars you can go to their website at

Hopkins and Geiger lead Muni best ball

Bruce Hopkins and Jim Geiger combined to shoot 64 to lead gross scoring in Saturday's two-man best ball play at the Amsterdam Municipal Golf Course.

Doug Teresco Sr. and Dan DiBlasi shot 57 to lead net scoring by four shots over Hal Banta and John Bordak. Three more pairs were tied two more shots back.

Sunday, Mark Russo shot 68 to lead the US Senior Open Partners competition, as his scored was added to Kenny Perry's 63 to post the winning score of 131. Carl Leo -- teamed with Fred Funk's score -- was seven shots back in second.

Also at Muni, Hopkins eagled the 17th hole and Tom Push eagled No. 13

Town of Florida

T-Ball kicks off

TOWN OF FLORIDA -- T-Ball season has kicked off four youth between the ages of 6-8 in the town of Florida.

If your child would like to play and has not signed up yet, call Heather at 843-0329. Practices are Tuesday evenings.